Casten Named to Select Climate Crisis Committee

February 7, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Representative Sean Casten (IL-06) announced today that he has been selected to serve on the new Select Committee on the Climate Crisis. Casten was previously named to the Science, Space, and Technology Committee and the House Financial Services Committee.

Casten said, “Having spent the last 20 years profitably reducing greenhouse gas emissions, I can offer the Select Committee real world expertise and a life-long commitment to action on climate change. I look forward to working with my colleagues under the leadership of Chair Castor to address the existential challenge to our species.”

The Members of the Select Committee on the Climate Crisis are:

•Congresswoman Kathy Castor of Florida, Chair

•Assistant Speaker Ben Ray Luján of New Mexico

•Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici of Oregon

•Congresswoman Julia Brownley of California

•Congressman Sean Casten of Illinois

•Congressman Jared Huffman of California

•Congressman Mike Levin of California

•Congressman A. Donald McEachin of Virginia

•Congressman Joe Neguse of Colorado