Casten Speaks at Glen Ellyn Metra Station Ceremony

November 25, 2019
Press Release
With Congressman’s support, Glen Ellyn Metra Station secures $14.4 million toward renovations

Glen Ellyn, IL – Today, U.S. Representative Sean Casten (IL-06) spoke at a ceremony at the Glen Ellyn Metra Station in order to announce and celebrate $14.4 million in funding that will be used to modernize the existing station and add improvements, such as a pedestrian underpass. These improvements will enhance accessibility in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), pedestrian safety, and expand ridership capabilities. Earlier this year, Rep. Casten wrote a letter of support, which helped Metra obtain the funding for this critical infrastructure investment.

Representatives Casten and Krishnamoorthi speak at Glen Ellyn Metra Station

“Nearly 2,000 residents of Illinois’ Sixth District utilize and depend on the Glen Ellyn Metra station during the week to get them where they need to go,” said Rep. Casten. “The station is critical to our area’s transportation sector and I’m glad that we were able to obtain this funding to modernize the station and add a pedestrian underpass to make the station safer and more accessible. In Congress, I will continue to work to attract funding to invest in the Sixth District’s infrastructure.”

“As the second busiest stop on the Union Pacific West line, we realize that the Glen Ellyn train station is a vital connection for our residents, businesses and visitors,” said Glen Ellyn Village President Diane McGinley. “The new train station and pedestrian underpass will significantly improve capacity, safety and accessibility, which will only further sustain the vitality of our downtown and the overall community.”

Others in attendance included, U.S. Representative Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Illinois State Representative Terra Costa Howard, DuPage County Board Members, Village of Glen Ellyn, Village of Glen Ellyn Trustees, and representatives from the offices of U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL).